The World Athletics Awards 2019 are set for Saturday 23rd November 2019 in Monaco and Joshua Cheptegei is among the 11 athletes that have been nominated for the IAAF Male Athlete of the year 2019.
The 23 year old IAAF World Champion has had a successful season and boosts of an extra ordinary profile as below:

Joshua Cheptegei (UGA)
- won world cross-country title in Aarhus, 2019
- won world 10,000m title in a world-leading 26:48.36, 2019
- won Diamond League 500m title, 2019

Other past outstanding performances include;
- Won the Double Gold at Commonwealth Games, Gold Coast Australia in 2018
- Won the World Championships, London UK in 2017
- Won the Africa Junior Championships, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in 2015
- Won the World University Cross Country Championships, Kampala in 2014
- Won the IAAF World Junior Championships, Oregon USA in 2014

Voting closes on 5th November 2019, 12pm CET and the public can cast their votes via IAAF social media platforms; on Facebook at IAAF World Athletics Club, by liking and sharing a picture of Joshua, on IAAF Twitter @iaaforg by retweeting Joshua’s tweet and on IAAF Instagram page @iaaf_athletics by liking the post of Joshua as your favorite nominee.

We look at the profiles of other contenders in the males category:
Donavan Brazier (USA)
-won World 800m title in a championship record of 1:42.34
-won Diamond League title
-won four of his five outdoor 800m races

Christian Coleman (USA)
-won World 100m title in a world-leading 9.76
-won world 4x100m title in a world-leading 37.10
-won four of his five races at 100m

Timothy Cheruyiot (KEN)
- won world 1500m title
- won Diamond League 1500m title
- won 10 of his 11 outdoor races across all distances

Steven Gardiner (BAH)
- won world 400m title in 43.48
- undefeated all year over 400m
- ran world-leading 32.26 indoors over 300m

Sam Kendricks (USA)
- won world pole vault title
- cleared a world-leading 6.06m to win the US title
- won 12 of his 17 outdoor competitions, including the Diamond League final

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
- won London Marathon in a course record of 2:02:37
- ran 1:59:40.2 for 42.195km in Vienna

Noah Lyles (USA)
- won world 200m and 4x100m titles
- ran a world-leading 19.50 in Lausanne to move to fourth on the world all-time list
- won Diamond League titles at 100m and 200m

Daniel Stahl (SWE)
- won the world discus title
- threw a world-leading 71.86m to move to fifth on the world all-time list
- won 13 of his 16 competitions, including the Diamond League final

Christian Taylor (USA)
- won the world triple jump title
- won Diamond League title
- won 10 of his 14 competitions

Karsten Warholm (NOR)
- won the world 400m hurdles title
- undefeated indoors and outdoors at all distances, including at the Diamond League final and the European Indoor Championships
- clocked world-leading 46.92, the second-fastest time in history

According to the IAAF Website, a three-way voting process will determine the finalists. The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a 'like' on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote. The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result. Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closes on 4 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019